Milwaukee Arts Board names Dale Gutzman, John Riepenhoff artists of the year

Mark Hoffman
Dale Gutzman, seen with longtime collaborator Marilyn White on the set of ‘Romeo and Juliet’ in 2014, has been named one of the Milwaukee Arts Board’s artists of the year.
By Jim Higgins
Feb. 3, 2015

The Milwaukee Arts Board has named theater director Dale Gutzman and artist/gallery owner John Riepenhoff its artists of the year. Each will receive an award of $1,500 at a March reception.

Gutzman, known for his innovative approach to staging, leads the downtown Off the Wall Theatre Company; he has also worked at Skylight Music Theatre and the University School of Milwaukee. Riepenhoff, co-owner of The Green Gallery, is an artist, curator and art advocate. 

This is the 20th time the arts board has named artists of the year, a program launched by former Ald. Wayne Frank in 1995. Past winners have included Evelyn Patricia Terry, Barbara Leigh, Reginald Baylor, Roy Staab, Antler, Debra Loewen, C. Michael Wright, Sarah Price, Jason Yi, JoAnna Poehlmann, Berkeley Fudge, Mark Bucher, Kevin Stalheim, Ferne Yangyeitie Caulker, James & Rose Pickering, Reynaldo Hernandez, Jill Sebastian, Terese Agnew, and John Schneider.

Funds for the award come from arts board members who donate the stipend paid for their meeting attendance, according to a MAB statement. 

click here for Milwaukee Arts Board press release